stat holidays

Stat Holidays for the New Year

In Life by Continental StaffLeave a Comment

The winter holidays aren’t even over and you’re already looking to plan your next big vacation in 2016. We understand, and we’ve got your back. Regardless of where you live in Canada, we’ll give you a rundown of your statutory holidays. We’ve included some other important dates to remember, but only the dates of stat holidays are bolded.

January

Friday January 1, New Year’s Day: A national stat holiday to help you ring in the new year (or nurse your New Year’s Eve hangover).

February

Sunday February 14, Valentine’s Day: Not a stat holiday, but an important date to remember unless you enjoy sleeping on the couch!

Monday February 15: In PEI it is Islander day, in Manitoba it is Louis Riel Day, in Nova Scotia it is Viola Desmond Day and in BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Ontario it is Family Day. Whatever you want to call it, it’s a stat holiday, and that alone is reason enough to celebrate.

March

easter eggs nest colored

Thursday March 17, St. Patrick’s Day: Unfortunately not a stat holiday, but maybe, with the luck of the Irish, it will become one soon.

Friday March 25, Good Friday: As one of Christianity’s most important celebrations, Good Friday is a stat holiday across all of Canada, except Quebec.

Monday March 28, Easter Monday: A stat holiday in Quebec only

May

Sunday May 8, Mother’s Day: Sorry mums, Mother’s Day is not a stat holiday, but we thought it was worth mentioning so no one has to buy a last minute present!

Monday May 23, Victoria Day: Celebrated nationally except in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador.

June

Sunday June 19, Father’s Day: If we mentioned Mother’s Day, it is only fair to mention Father’s Day as well. Unfortunately, like Mother’s day, Father’s Day is not a stat holiday.

Tuesday June 21, Aboriginal Day: Aboriginal Day is only a stat holiday in the Northwest Territories.

Friday June 24, St. Jean Baptiste Day: Only a stat holiday in Quebec.

July

canada day flag leaves maple red white

Friday July 1, Canada Day: Since Canada Day will be on a Friday there will be no need to take an extra day off to bridge the gap between our country’s birthday bash and the weekend.

August

Monday August 1, Civic Holiday: A stat holiday only in Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan, Ontario, New Brunswick and Nunavut.

September

Monday September 5, Labour Day: A stat holiday from sea to sea to sea, Labour Day is usually the last big weekend of the summer, so make the most of it.

October

happy thanksgiving food cranberry pie leaves fall autumn

Monday October 10, Thanksgiving: A stat holiday except in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador. Be thankful for the long weekend.

Monday October 31, Halloween: Not a stat holiday…spooky.

November

Friday November 11, Remembrance Day: Honour those who have served Canada in uniform. A stat holiday in every province except for Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, and Nova Scotia.

December

Sunday December 25, Christmas Day: A national stat holiday.

Monday December 26, Boxing Day: A stat holiday only in Ontario.

Stay informed. Stay Current.